Building & Codes

The Sumner County Building and Codes Department is committed to ensure that a high quality of construction is maintained for the safety and well-being of our citizens. The Building and Codes Department ensures compliance with all applicable building codes adopted by the County’s Governing Body. This is primarily accomplished through a plan review, permitting and inspections process. The Building and Codes Department is also charged with Floodplain Management, Property Maintenance violations as well as Environmental permitting for septic tank systems.

Marshall Wright
Director
Email: mwright@sumnercountytn.gov

Debi Smith
Assistant to the Director
Email: dsmith@sumnercountytn.gov

Terry Haynes
Deputy Building Official
Email: thaynes@sumnercountytn.gov

Lisa Richardson
Administrative Assistant 
Email: lrichardson@sumnercountytn.gov

David Manning
Plumbing and Mechanical Inspector
Email: dmanning@sumnercountytn.gov

Mike Scott
Building Inspector
Email: cmscott@sumnercountytn.gov

Todd Hubbard
Property Maintenance Inspector
Email: thubbard@sumnercountytn.gov

Address & Contact

355 N. Belvedere Drive, Room 208
Gallatin, TN 37066
Phone: (615) 452-1467
Fax: (615) 442-1154

Codes Violation/Prop. Maintenance
355 N. Belvedere Drive, Room 210
Phone: (615) 442-1184
Fax: (615) 442-1154

Notice for Foundation/Structural Inspections

Effective Date: 04/01/22

Builders or homeowners retaining the services of a Tennessee Licensed Engineer to perform footing/foundation or structural inspections must submit their report to the Sumner County Building and Codes department before any additional work can proceed. Sequential inspections will not be performed until the initial Engineer report has been submitted for review. 

Footing Inspection reports performed by engineers must also indicate that the setback requirements are compliant. 

Owners or builders found to be in violation may be subject to fines and penalties. 

Building & Codes

  |  Salary to be discussed with applicant