Public Records Request

How To Make A Public Records Request

Our goal is to provide you quickly with the public records that you are entitled to in a convenient manner. In Sumner County, access to public records are governed by the Sumner County Public Records Request Policy and the Tennessee Public Records Act. We ask that any records request be made with as much detail as possible to help us more easily locate the requested record.

Who do I contact to make a Public Records Request?

All public records requests for inspections and/or copies of records must be made to the Public Records Request Coordinator or the Department’s Records Custodians (listed below). It is preferred that all public records requests are made in writing or using the Public Records Request Form. This allows for the clearest communication and most accurately informs the staff fulfilling the request exactly what records are requested. Any requests for copies of public records must be in writing or made via this form. Requests for a simple inspection of public records can be made by any normal means of communication with the appropriate records custodian or the records coordinator.

(Please note, the Coordinator or Custodian may ask the requestor to provide documentation confirming Tennessee citizenship.)

After receiving your request, the Coordinator or Custodian will work to complete your request. If your request cannot be completed promptly, the Coordinator will contact you with the estimated time necessary to complete the request. Please note, there may be a cost for the production of your request (if you have requested copies). The Coordinator will inform you of any cost up-front before fulfilling your request. Your request may be denied if it falls under an exception to the Tennessee Public Records Act. You will be informed in writing if your request is denied.

DepartmentRecords Custodian and E-mail
Building and CodesDebi Smith
dsmith@sumnercountytn.gov
Circuit Court ClerkKathryn Strong
kathryn.strong@tncourts.gov
County ClerkJennifer Mitchell
jmitchell@sumnercountytn.gov
County Executive’s OfficeAngie West
awest@sumnercountytn.gov
County TrusteeCindy Cantrell
ccantrell@sumnercountytn.gov
Development ServicesKathy Young
kyoung@sumnercountytn.gov
Elections CommissionAnnette Haw
annettehaw@sumnercountytn.gov
Emergency ManagementKen Weidner
kweidner@sumnerema.org
Emergency MedicalAmy Summers
asummers@sumnerems.org
Finance DepartmentJessica Allison
jallison@sumnercountytn.gov
Health DepartmentHal Hendricks
Hal.hendricks@tn.gov
Highway DepartmentSheila Troutt
stroutt@sumnercohwy.com
Human ResourcesCheryl Lewis-Smith
clewis-smith@sumnercountytn.gov
Law Director’s OfficeBen Allen
ben@sumnercountytn.gov
Office of the Clerk and MasterMark Smith
mark.smith@tncourts.gov
Register of DeedsHolly Hemmrich
hhemmrich@sumnercountytn.gov
Risk ManagementKim White
kwhite@sumnercountytn.gov
Sheriff’s OfficeNatasha Latham
nlatham@sumnersheriff.com
Tax AssessorPaul A. Fornes
paulfornes@sumnercountytn.gov
Veteran’s AffairsRebecca Gallion
rgallion@sumnercountytn.gov

Download the Public Records Request Form
Sumner County Public Records Request Policy

Public Records Request Coordinator
Ben Allen
Phone: (615) 451-6060
Fax: 615-451-6061
Email: ben@sumnercountytn.gov

Questions or concerns?
Contact the Sumner County Law Director’s Office at 615-451-6060